10 Legends who have not won the Champions League

OMG Staff - mercredi 18 mai 2016 1.2k Likes

Next June 6th, Gigi Buffon’s Juventus will challenge FC Barcelona where currently evolves Luis Suarez. The Italian and the Uruguayan have never won the Champions League aka the precious Holy Grail completing the career of any soccer player. For Buffon, the subject is sensitive because it seems as if he was cursed, like many other major soccer players in fact. Ladies and gentlemen, Top 10 legends who have never won the Champions League!

1.Diego Armando Maradona

Considered as the best soccer player of all time by many, Diego Armando Maradona didn’t have a chance to win the Champions League despite his numerous talents on the field. The Argentinean has, however, won the UEFA Cup in 1989 with the Napoli. Some consolation...?

2. Ronaldo

Like Maradona, Ronaldo shined bright on the soccer fields but never managed to obtain the precious stone. Having gone through Barcelona, ??Inter, Real Madrid or Milan, the ‘’Fenomeno’’ seemingly was doomed in this competition. Yet he is considered as one of the best Brazilian soccer players in history. Says a lot about his talents...

3. Lothar Matthaus

When gamers took "Classic Germany" on Pro Evolution Soccer, they could rely on a Maletz in midfield. Lothar Matthaus, his real name, is a real legend in Germany. The former captain of the German team played in the Champions League with Bayern and Inter but always ended up failing, including two finals (1987 and 1999)! A real disappointment that was more or less compensated by his successes in the 1991 and 1996 UEFA Cups.

4. Dennis Bergkamp

The brilliant Dutch striker made a lot of soccer fans dream but has not managed to make his own dream a reality. He passed through Ajax, Inter Milan and Arsenal winning the 1987 Winners Cup and the UEFA Cup in 1992 and 1994. But the Dutchmanlost all his abilities when he joined Arsenal in 1995. The Gunners never managed to win the best title of European competition, although they were very close in 2006, in the final against FC Barcelona.

5. Pavel Nedved

The 2003 Golden Ball trophy holder was very close to adding the Holy Grail in his prize list but unfortunately failed. Finalist in the Champions League in 2003, Juventus could not rely on the Czech who had been suspended back then. AC Milan had the advantage at the final after a pitiless penalty shootout session.

6. Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Even if the Swede is not the biggest player on this list, his failure in the Champions League is nevertheless the most surprising. Stricken by bad luck, Zlatan Ibrahimovic left Inter right before the Italians won the C1. He joined FC Barcelona, ??who won the trophy in 2011, the year after his departure for Milan! Will PSG win the cup after the departure of Ibra or will the Scandinavian overcome this curse in the cavern of Milan in the 2016 finals? To be continued…

7. Gianluigi Buffon

Playing against Barca in the 2015 finals of the Champions League, Gigi Buffon probably had enormous pressure approaching this match. 2000's best goalkeeper unquestionably deserves to be rewarded for his talent and especially for his loyalty. Beaten by Milan in the C1 finals in 2003, Buffon will have unmatched motivation on June 6, he, who stayed at Juve in 2007 when the Old Lady was in B Series...

8. Ruud Van Nistelrooy

Top scorer in the 2002, 2003 and 2005’s Champions League’s editions, Ruud Van Nistelrooy kept the goals coming, which did not, however, allow him to lift the trophy, with both Manchester United and Real Madrid. The orange goal scoring sensation must have so many regrets!

9. Patrick Vieira

From AC Milan to Juventus, passing by Arsenal, Inter and Manchester City, Patrick Vieira has impressed observers and is now a remarkable attacking midfielder. However, as incredible as it may seem, these countless renowned clubs have never allowed him to win once the C1.

10. Michael Ballack

Like Vieira, Ballack is a world class player who revolutionized the midfield. In Bayer Leverkusen, as well as in Bayern Munich or Chelsea, the German failed in his quest for the Champions League despite two finals played in 2002 and 2008. Furthermore, he also was a looser in the finals of the 2002 World Cup. Cursed all the way!

These fantastic players seem to have been hit with a curse for the Champions League. However, their incredible careers defend them and allow them to join the circle of great players in the history of soccer.  As for Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Buffon, there is still time to add a page in their history...

À découvrir aussi

Tu aimeras aussi

voir la suite des articles

Rejoins la communauté